anzgg logo

Big Geomorphology Webinar Series

Normally we would be preparing for the next biennial conference, but with COVID-19 this has been delayed to 2021. To keep the ANZGG spirit alive, we have organised a series of online webinars that cover advances in big themes and ideas in geomorphology. You will get an introduction to the latest research and ideas from leading researchers and practitioners. The idea is that each topic will appeal to both Australians and New Zealanders, as well as to people who generally love the landscape as much as we do. We thought that Mars was a good place to start. 

We are delighted to announce that the first webinar is being presented by:

Dr Susan Conway, Laboratoire de Planetologie et Geodynamique, Nantes University, France

"Martian Geomorphology - recent advances and open science questions"

Abstract and Biography: Click here

When: Wednesday 22 July, 2:00 - 3:00 pm AEST, via Zoom

Zoom link:

Password: 979638

Susan Conway book


ANZGG Medallists

The ANZGG awards bronze medals to distinguished geomorphologists who have made a significant contribution to the ANZGG through sustained interest and participation in conferences and other activities of the organisation. 

The two inaugural medals were presented in July 2009 at the Seventh International Conference on Geomorphology to:

    • Professor John Chappell, Research School of Earth Sciences, ANU.
    • Professor Martin Williams, Geographical and Environmental Studies, The University of Adelaide.

 A third medal was presented in February 2011 at the 14th Biennial Meeting at Oamaru NZ, to:

    • Professor Mike Crozier, Victoria University of Wellington.

The fourth medal was presented in December 2012 at the 15th Biennial Meeting at Bundanoon, to:

    • Professor Gerald Nanson, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Wollongong.

The fifth medal was presented in December 2014 at the 16th Biennial Meeting at Tambourine Mountain, to:

    • Professor Jane Soons, Department of Geography, University of Canterbury.

The sixth and seventh medals were presented in February 2019 at the 18th Biennial Meeting at Inverloch, to:

    • Associate Professor Trish Fanning, Department of Environmental Sciences, Macquarie University
    • Professor Brad Pillans, Research School of Earth Sciences, ANU

Details and Nomination Form can be found here. 


Vale John Chappell

It is with great sadness that we announce that Emeritus Professor John Chappell, passed away on 3 October 2018. John was a central figure in the world of Geomorphology and Quaternary Science, a great friend and mentor to many, and a great friend of the ANZGG. A short obituary of John's career and achievements has been put together by Martin Williams and can be read here.

The ANZGG have sent John's wife and family a Totara tree (Podocarpus totaro) to plant in their garden in Dunedin in his memory.

chappell john


Griffith University Geomorphologists win Eureka Prize

Congratulations to Associate Professor Andrew Brooks and the Catchment Sediment Budget Research team at Griffith University for winning a 2017 Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Environmental Research. Their award winning research is focused on identifying the sediment sources in the catchments draining into the Great Barrier Reef. Further details are here.

AB Eureka Prize v2

L-R: Graeme Curwen, John Spencer, Prof. Jon Olley, Assoc. Prof. Andrew Brooks


Vale Wayne Erskine

Sadly, the geomorphology community has lost Professor Wayne Erskine, who died suddenly in Darwin in August 2017.Wayne was one of Australia's most influential fluvial geomorphologists, and a great mentor, colleague and friend to many of us. He will be sorely missed.

Wayne Erskine


International Recognition

Associate Professor Kirstie Fryirs from Macquarie University received the 2015 Gordon Warwick Medal at the British Society for Geomorphology (in Southampton). The medal is awarded for excellence in geomorphological research by someone within 15 years of graduating with their doctorate. She delivered an address on approaches to analysis of river sensitivity.

Previous award winners at the BSG who have an Australian or New Zealand connection are: Gerald Nanson and George Dury (Linton Award for leading contribution over a sustained period), Stephen Tooth (Gordon Warwick Medal) and Paul Bishop (Wiley Award for best paper in ESPL in the given year).

KF    gerald KF

 L: A/Prof. Kirstie Fryirs receiving her award from Prof. Mike Kirkby. R: Prof. Gerald Nanson receives his award from Prof. Ken Gregory. 



A new volume, Australian Landscapes, edited by Paul Bishop and Brad Pillans, has been published by the Geological Society of London. This contains a collection of papers in tribute to Prof. Martin Williams and Prof. John Chappell. Details can be found at:

Martin Williams and John Chappell are two of the many students of the late Joe Jennings, Professorial Fellow in Geomorphology at the ANU. Brad Pillans has prepared an account of the lineage of geomorphologists whose training can be traced to Joe. This can be downloaded as a PDF file: The genealogy of Joe Jennings

A partial list of publications of the ANZGG (Inc) can be downloaded here.  


Useful links