anzgg logo

History of ANZGG 

In 1982, a group of geomorphologists from Australia and New Zealand came up with the idea of an ANZGG. These pioneers: Gerald Nanson, Bob Young and Ted Bryant, along with Mike Crozier, devised a plan to form an organisation for geomorphologists with the aim to foster intellectual exchange between members of the geomorphological community. This was to be achieved through biennial meetings, the first of which was organised by Gerald, Bob and Ted in August 1982 at Ranelagh House in Robertson NSW. The format of the inaugural meeting was 3 days of sessions and field workshops on the different branches of geomorphology, and 1 day of field trips. Despite several decades passing, the format of ANZGG conferences has changed very little and is a testament to these pioneering ideas.

To read more of the original proposal and the 1st ANZGG Conference, click on the links below:

Letter from Gerald Nanson in 1982

First Circular for the Australian Geomorphology Conference 1982


Our Executive

The elected representatives of the ANZGG listed here hold office in the period between the 17th and 18th conferences:

  • President: Ian Rutherfurd, University of Melbourne. email
  • Vice-President (Australia): Kirstie Fryirs, Macquarie University. email
  • Vice-President (New Zealand): Ian Fuller, Massey University. email
  • Communications and website: Kerrie Tomkins, Macquarie University. email
  • Early Career Representative (Australia): Alissa Flatley, University of Melbourne. email
  • Early Career Representative (New Zealand): Alastair Clement, University of Melbourne. email
  • Secretary and membership: Karen Kapteinis, Tardis Pty Ltd. email
  • Treasurer: James Grove, University of Melbourne. email
  • Professional Certification: Mick Cheetham, Water Technology. email 

  Executive Committee 2017

L-R: Alissa, Ian R, Alastair, Kirstie, Mick and Kerrie.

For the International Association of Geomorphologists (IAG) meetings, the President and respective Vice-President of the other country will represent Australia and New Zealand.


Association Rules

The rules of the ANZGG Association are available here (PDF file).